grill makeover

When we bought our house, we had a few “extras” lying around from the previous owners. One of those extras was this charcoal grill.



I know it’s not much to look at, but from the eyes of 2 poor newlyweds, this was amazing. This meant we didn’t have to drop money we didn’t have for a grill of our own to use in our new backyard.

Fast forward a few years to our move and this sucker almost didn’t make it onto the truck. I was in the whirlwind of moving without T and in the “everything must go!” kick. I was selling, donating, and throwing out whatever wasn’t 100% satisfactory. But just before I gave the grill up, I realized it had potential. It worked fine but it was ugly, and that’s something I can fix.

All this took was some high heat spray enamel, stain, and polyurethane. Thankfully we had all of that leftover from other projects, minus the clear coat.

One more look at the before.

And now the after.

Not too shabby. The best part is whenever I’m at Lowe’s I stop by the grills and look at how much they cost so I can feel good about my refurbished free grill. And then I can justify spending that amount of $$ on something else, like earrings…

Posted in diy

Leave a Reply

